Accessibility/Mobile Features
Skip Navigation
News | Back

Eight High School Sports Scholarships Awarded

L to R: Morgan Klassen, Alexia Lecocq, Lukas Frykas, Cassidy Ilchena

L to R: Morgan Klassen, Alexia Lecocq, Lukas Frykas, Cassidy Ilchena

The Manitoba High Schools Athletic Association presented seven high school hockey scholarships and one high school basketball scholarship on Wednesday at the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame. Schools were invited to nominate individuals from high school hockey and basketball teams from across Manitoba.


The Garett Lee Sidor Memorial Scholarship is named after Garrett, who was a student/athlete at Windsor Park Collegiate. Garett tragically passed away in May of 2007, just a couple of months after his team, the Windsor Park Royals captured the “AAA” Provincial Basketball Championships, where he was selected as an all-star.  Garrett was an all-around athlete who participated in hockey, volleyball and basketball.  Garett’s friends and family have come together to put a $750.00 scholarship in his name to be awarded to a high school male basketball player each year.


Lukas Frykas of Gilbert Plains Collegiate was the team captain of his basketball and volleyball teams. Lukas averaged 17 points and 11 rebounds per game during league play this past basketball season while leading his team in free throw percentage. He is heavily involved in the Air Cadet Program in Gilbert Plains and has won several accolades for his performance at various camps and retreats with the organization. He is translating his interest in flying into a post-secondary plan to one day become a commercial pilot. Lukas is a leader and can often be found helping struggling students with difficult concepts in math and science. He was also the driving force of the creation of the school’s varsity boys’ volleyball team. Lukas is a lead-by-example kind of student and works hard to raise the bar for his fellow students. He maintains an 89.6% academic average.


The Alexander Josephson Memorial Scholarship is awarded in honour of Alexander Josephson, a student at St. John’s Ravenscourt School, who tragically past away in a car accident in 2005. Alexander was a member of the 2003 Provincial High School Hockey Championship team and was selected as a Provincial all-star. The recipients of this scholarship are students who demonstrate strong leadership and team play, high scholastic standing, a hard-working attitude and who are proceeding to a post-secondary institution.  A male and female hockey player will each receive a $2000.00 scholarship.


Morgan Klassen of Portage Collegiate Institute maintains a 93% academic average. She is a Winnipeg Women’s High School Hockey League Vets all-star and nominee for league MVP. She is a goaltender mentor to younger hockey goalies in the community, volunteers with Special Olympics floor hockey, and is a member of the Portage Collegiate Peer Helpers.  


Rhett Bryant of Vincent Massey High School in Brandon maintains a 92% academic average. He was the team captain and named the top defenseman in the Westman High School Hockey League. He can control the game with a strong first pass and quarterbacks the power play. Rhett is also a talented writer, founded a Christmas Cheer drive, is the perfect example of a student athlete, and is currently volunteering in Nepal.


The Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame and Museum sponsors two awards including the Ken “Friar” Nicolson Award for a male high school hockey player and the Sami Jo Small Award for a female hockey player. Nicolson was the broadcaster for CJOB for the Winnipeg Jets, and was a tremendous supporter of high school hockey.  Sami Jo Small was an outstanding athlete at College Jeanne Sauvé in track and field, was the MHSAA’s athlete of the year in 1993, and a member of the MHSAA Hall of Fame.  She went on to play for Canada’s National Women’s Hockey Team appearing at five Olympic Games, winning three gold medals.  Each recipient will receive a $1000.00 scholarship.


This year’s recipient of the Sami Jo Small Award is Alexia Lecocq of St. Mary’s Academy. Alexia maintains a 95% academic average and was team captain of her high school hockey team. She is a league and division champ and was nominated for league MVP. She was a member of this year’s Winnipeg Women’s High School Hockey League all-star team. Alexia is a committee member of her school’s athletics club, a volunteer at the St. Mary’s open house, and a guest speaker at the freshman retreat at St. Paul’s High School. She has also volunteered for the Winnipeg Fire Paramedic Service Half Marathon, Cancer Care Manitoba and Siloam Mission.


The recipient of the Ken “Friar” Nicolson Award is Matthew Gagliardi of College Beliveau. Matthew maintains an academic average of 92% and has received the gold medal for academic excellence for the past three years. His high school hockey team played in the Free Press division and finished in third place. He had 25 points in 24 regular season game and five points in four playoff games. He was the assistant captain for his team and wore the “A” proudly, always leading by example and giving 100% during his shifts. Matthew also is involved in soccer, volleyball, basketball and badminton. He is a member of the grad committee, a peer tutor, and has also volunteered at the Agape Table, Habitat for Humanity and Winnipeg Harvest.


The D’Arcy Bain/Fred Stevenson Award is named in honour of long time hockey coach Fred Stevenson of St. John’s Ravenscourt, and the $750.00 scholarship is sponsored by Winnipeg based physiotherapist D’Arcy Bain. 


Lyndon Zimmer of Major Pratt School in Russell is this year’s recipient. Lyndon was his high school hockey team’s assistant captain and an all-star defenseman. He also participated in volleyball, badminton and baseball. Lyndon is a member of his church’s youth group and a lifeguard at the Russell Inn and Russell Swimming Pool. He was a volunteer for the Cancer Care Gala Fundraiser and Stick it to Cancer Fundraiser. 


The Winnipeg Jets Alumni and Friends Scholarships supports high school hockey by presenting two $1,000.00 scholarships, one to a male and the other to a female player. The criteria for this award includes on-ice skills, as well as leadership in school and community.  



Bailey Reichmuth of Major Pratt School in Russell was a large part of the Trojans high school hockey team and was named team captain by his coaches and teammates. He had 23 goals and 26 assists and was a vital part of the team. Bailey not only plays hockey but is also involved in volleyball, golf, badminton and baseball. He helps with middle years sports by running practices and helping officiate at tournaments. He leads by example and is good at resolving conflict.


Cassidy Ilchena of Lord Selkirk Regional Comprehensive Secondary School maintains a 98% academic average. She is president of the school’s student council, a Grade 12 student ambassador, an academic tutor, a teen talk support member, an active member in the Eco-Action and Human Rights clubs and represented the school at the Model United Nation’s Assembly. She is an excellent leader, mentor at the hockey rink, and was her high school hockey team’s top forward, penalty killer and team captain.




Categories: Basketball, Hockey, BĂ©liveau, Gilbert Plains, Lord Selkirk, Major Pratt, Portage, St. Mary's Academy, Vincent Massey (Bdn)