Accessibility/Mobile Features
Skip Navigation


  • L to R: Don Iwanoczko, Camryn McMillan, Spencer Teetaert, Austin Anderson, Annika Loeppky, Erna Iwanoczko

    Dr. Dale Iwanoczko Memorial Volleyball Scholarship 2017-2018 Recipients

    The Manitoba High Schools Athletic Association and Volleyball Manitoba are pleased to announce the 2017-2018 recipients of the Dr. Dale Iwanoczko Memorial Volleyball Scholarships. These $1,000 scholarships are awarded annually in memory of Selkirk, Manitoba volleyball player, Dr. Dale Iwanoczko.


    Dale began his volleyball career playing for Lord Selkirk Regional High School and the University of Manitoba Bisons where he was named a five-time All-Canadian. He was selected as the CIS/CIAU Most Valuable Player in 1990 and led the Bisons to the national championship title in 1991. He also played on Manitoba's Provincial and Canada Games Teams. Dale was selected as Valedictorian, Governor General Award winner, and Athlete of the Year at Lord Selkirk Regional Secondary School (Gr 11 & 12). He obtained his medical degree from the University of Manitoba, and sadly passed away at the age of 30, after succumbing to Hodgkin's disease, a battle he had fought valiantly for 14 months. In 1999 several of Dale's friends have organized an annual golf tournament to raise funds for this scholarship which is named in his honour and memory.


    To be eligible for this scholarship a student must be proceeding to a post-secondary institution and have a minimum 75% academic average. The individual must have proficiency in volleyball, while academic standing, and involvement in their school and community are also considered.


    This year four student athletes have been selected:


    Austin Anderson, Niverville Collegiate – this year he was selected as a “AAAA” graduating all-star and won the “Players Choice Award” at the “AAAA” Boston Pizza Varsity Volleyball Provincial Championships. He was named a Manitoba Provincial All-Star twice in club volleyball. Austin was an assistant coach for the Niverville JV boys volleyball team, a youth leader in his church, a camp counselor at the Red Rock Bible Cap and is currently a respite worker. He holds an academic average of 90.5% and is also a member of the school’s concert and jazz bands.  


    Annika Loeppky, Lord Selkirk Regional Comprehensive Secondary School – holds an academic average of 98.6% while being an active member in her community. She was named an all-star at the Portage Classic and a “AAAA” graduating all-star. She was a member of the KPAC Championship teams from 2015 – 2017. She volunteers at the Betel Personal Care Home and spent time over the summer volunteering at a Mennonite bible camp. She was chosen to participate in the Rotary Adventures in Human Rights camp this past summer and has helped coach the Jr. NBA basketball camp for children aged 5-8. She is a member of the Lord Selkirk Regional Human Rights Group, Ethics Bowl Team, Special Olympics, Best Buddies program and Manitoba Leadership Cohort. She is a student ambassador at her school and a grad liaison.  She also participates in senior choir, vocal jazz ensemble and varsity girls basketball and track and field.


    Camryn McMillan, Carberry Collegiate – was selected as the 2016-2017 varsity girls MVP and was selected to Volleyball Manitoba’s graduating all-star team.  She also participates in basketball, curling, badminton, track and field, and fastball at her school. Camryn is the co-editor of the school yearbook, a peer tutor and middle years reading helper. She is a lifeguard/swim instructor at the Carberry pool, a junior curling helper, and member of the Math and TADD clubs, all while holding down an academic average of 96%.


    Spencer Teetaert, Steinbach Regional Secondary School – is president of the student council at Steinbach Regional School as well as a member of the choral group.  He is currently achieving a grade 8 Royal Conservatory accreditation with honours for piano.  This year he was named a varsity graduating all-star. He is involved in a variety of sports including volleyball, soccer, baseball, track and field and basketball. He is a voice for the youth in his community and has lobbied the city’s council to create a Youth Advisory Council, for which he is awaiting a response. He is organizing an Amazing Race completion for all youth that will focus on teamwork and inclusion. Spencer not only competes in volleyball on his school team but also plays club and beach volleyball, while maintaining an academic average of 99.2%.


    The Manitoba High Schools Athletic Association and Volleyball Manitoba work in co-operation to support the academic and athletic endeavors of Manitoba High School student athletes.  



    Royals, Olympiens rule volleyball court

    They opened the tournament as top dogs and when the dust finally settled on the boys and girls AAAA provincial high school volley finals Monday night, it was the two No. 1-ranked teams left celebrating in the winner’s circle.


    The Collège Jeanne-Sauvé Olympiens defeated the Portage Collegiate Saints to clinch the girls title, while the Lord Selkirk Royals upended the River East Collegiate Kodiaks to claim the boys title. Both matches needed four games to crown a champion, with every team earning hearty applause by the hundreds of fans who filled the seats at the University of Manitoba’s Investors Group Athletic Centre.


    Click here for the full story from the Winnipeg Free Press.


  • Kevin King/Winnipeg Sun

    Lord Selkirk Royals repeat as boys volleyball champions

    For the second year in a row, the Lord Selkirk Royals will wear the crown as the top varsity boy’s high school volleyball team in the province.


    The No.1-ranked Royals took down the No.2-ranked River East Kodiaks in four sets (21-25, 25-23, 25-18, 25-22) on Monday night to win the provincial championship for the eighth time in school history. The Kodiaks were looking for their first provincial title in varsity boy’s volleyball since 1982.


    Click here for the full story from the Winnipeg Sun.


  • Kevin King/Winnipeg Sun

    Olympiens win girls volleyball title

    There’s a new powerhouse in Manitoba high school girls’ volleyball and it’s the Collège Jeanne-Sauvé Olympiens.


    The No.1-ranked Olympiens won their first varsity girls’ provincial title in school history on Monday night, defeating the No.3-ranked Portage Collegiate Saints in four sets (26-24, 25-16, 19-25-25-14).


    Click here for the full story from the Winnipeg Sun.


  • Kevin King/Winnipeg Sun/Postmedia Network

    High school boys volleyball final set

    The second-seeded River East Kodiaks will head to the provincial final after a straight set victory over the third-seeded Dakota Collegiate Lancers (25-19, 25-22, 25-22) yesterday. The Kodiaks are led by Hudson Wall, who was ranked the second best player in the province in the Winnipeg Sun’s annual coaches poll. To the surprise of no one, Wall was the focal point River East’s offence in the semi-final last night at the Investors Group Athletic Centre. Dakota had two, sometimes three, blockers on him all game but it wasn’t enough to take down Wall.


    The Kodiaks will meet a school in Monday’s final that are no strangers to giving out licks on the volleyball court and winning provincial banners. They will challenge the top-seeded Lord Selkirk Royals, who punched their ticket to the championship game after defeating the fourth-seeded St. Paul’s Crusaders in four sets (25-22, 25-23, 22-25, 25-22) in the late game last night.


    Click here for the full story from the Winnipeg Sun.