Accessibility/Mobile Features
Skip Navigation
News | Back

Dr. Dale Iwanoczko Scholarship Recipients

The Manitoba High Schools Athletic Association and Manitoba Volleyball Association are pleased to announce the 2012-2013 recipients of the Dr. Dale Iwanoczko Memorial Volleyball Scholarships. These $750.00 scholarships are awarded annually in memory of Selkirk, Manitoba volleyball player, Dr. Dale Iwanoczko.

Dale began his volleyball career playing for Lord Selkirk Regional High School and advanced to the University of Manitoba Bisons where he was named a five-time All-Canadian.  He was selected CIS/CIAU Most Valuable Player in 1990, and led the Bisons to the national championship title in 1991.  He also played on Manitoba's Provincial and Canada Games Teams.  Dale was Valedictorian, Governor General Award winner, and Athlete of the Year at Lord Selkirk Regional School.  He obtained his medical degree from the University of Manitoba, and sadly passed away at the age of thirty, after succumbing to Hodgkin's disease, a battle he had fought valiantly for fourteen months.  A number of Dale's friends, have organized an annual golf tournament to raise funds for this scholarship named in his honour and memory.

To be eligible for this scholarship, a student must be proceeding to a post-secondary institution and have a minimum 65% academic average.  The individual must have proficiency in volleyball, while academic standing, community activities, and citizenship are also considered.

This year five individuals have been selected.  Read Media Release

Categories: Volleyball, Gabrielle Roy, Glenboro, Glenlawn, Miles Macdonell, Vincent Massey (Wpg)