Accessibility/Mobile Features
Skip Navigation
News | Back

Boroski, Hanford, Stoesz, Haydenluck and Small enter MHSAA Hall of Fame. Builders are McNabb, Harrison, and Kelesnik

Chosen for induction this year are Susan (Boroski) Bodie of River East Collegiate (basketball, badminton, track), Lesley (Hanford) Lee of Vincent Massey Collegiate (volleyball, basketball, track), Ted Stoesz of Dakota (basketball, volleyball, track, badminton), Greg Haydenluck of Portage la Prairie's Arthur Meighen (track, pole vault, bobsleigh Olympian), and Sami Jo Small of College Jeanne-Sauvé (volleyball, badminton, javelin, shot put, discus). Small, a two-time Olympic gold medallist in hockey, is also a former MHSAA female athlete of the year (1994).

The induction will also include builders Dave McNabb of Vincent Massey Winnipeg (basketball), James Harrison of Miles Macdonell (volleyball, basketball) and Fred Kelesnik of Morris (volleyball, MHSAA board member).

One team will also go into the MHSAA Hall this year, the Miles Macdonell ladies curling team from 1970-72 that captured three provincial high school titles. The players were skip Maureen Jackson and Cathy Pidzarko, Chris Pidzarko and Margaret Sader from 1970; Jackson, Chris Pidzarko, Cathy Pidzarko and Gaye Birchall from 1971; and skip Chris Pidzarko, Cathy Pidzarko, Janet Walker and Linda Walker from 1972.

The ceremony is scheduled for May 10 at the Holiday Inn South.