Accessibility/Mobile Features
Skip Navigation
News | Back

Milk Provincial High School Hockey Championships Set

Twelve high school hockey teams from across Manitoba will be vying for bragging rights, as the Milk Provincial High school hockey championships begin this weekend. There will be a new AAAA Hockey Champion this year as defending champs John Taylor Pipers did not advance.  The favourite going in will be the St. Paul’s Crusaders , who won the Winnipeg High School Hockey League.  Other participating teams include, Morden Thunder, Dauphin Clippers, Kelvin Clippers, Oak Park Raiders and St. Paul’s Crusaders.  Host team is the River East Kodiaks. 

Action for all games, will take place at the Gateway Arena (Red Rink), beginning this Friday, March 14th, with the teams divided into two pools of three.   Semi final action takes place on Saturday afternoon with games at 1:45 and 3:30 p.m., while the Championship Final gets underway on Monday March 17th, at 7.30 p.m at the St. James Civic Center.

The Provincial AA Championships will be taking place in Russell beginning on Thursday, March 13th.  Participating teams include Cartwright/Nellie McClung/Plot Mound Tigers, defending champion Neepawa Tigers, Major Pratt Trojans from Russell, Deloraine/Hartney Colts, Melita/Waskada Devils and the Prairie Mountain Mustangs (Sommerset).
All games will be played at the Russell Arena.  Semi Finals take place on Friday afternoon at 5:30 and 8:00 p.m., and the Bronze Medal game will be played at 11:00 am and the Championship final will go at 2:00 p.m. on Saturday March 15th.

Categories: Hockey, Cartwright, Dauphin, Deloraine, Hartney, Kelvin, Major Pratt, Melita, Morden, Neepawa, Nellie McClung, Oak Park, Pilot Mound, Prairie Mountain, River East, St. Paul's HS, Waskada