Accessibility/Mobile Features
Skip Navigation
News | Back

High School Hall of Fame Inductees Honoured!

The 2014 Class of the Manitoba High School Hall of Fame was honoured today at a reception at the Holiday Inn South.


Athletes to be inducted include Susan (Boroski) Bodie of River East Collegiate (High School Basketball, Badminton and Track), Lesley (Hanford) Lee of  Vincent Massey Collegiate (High School Volleyball, Basketball, Track), Ted Stoesz of  Dakota (Basketball, Volleyball, Track, and Badminton), Greg Haydenluck of Arthur Meighen in Portage La Prairie (High School track and pole vault), and Bobsleigh Olympian,  and Sami Jo Small of College Jeanne Sauve (High School volleyball, badminton, javelin, shot put and discus), and two time gold medalist in hockey at the Olympics.


Athlete Bio:


Sami Jo Small – College Jeanne-Sauve (Volleyball, Badminton and Track)

1994 - MHSAA Female Athlete of the Year

1994 - AAA Provincial Volleyball Champions - Selected MVP

1994 - Provincial ladies singles Badminton Champion

1994 - Still holds Varsity Girls record in Discus (44.98m) and Javelin (44.80m)


Susan Boroski – River East Collegiate (Basketball, Badminton, Track)

1977 - Varsity Girls Basketball Provincial Champion - MVP

1977 - Provincial Badminton Champion – Girls Doubles

1976-77- Provincial Girls Hurdle Champion


Lesley (Hanford) Lee -Vincent Massey Collegiate (Volleyball, Basketball, and Track) 1968-1971

1969 - Provincial gold medals in 80 yard Hurdles and Relay

1970 - Provincial gold medals 80 yard Hurdles and Relay Champion, Basketball and Volleyball all star

1971 - Provincial gold medals in  80 yard Hurdles, 60 yd dash and relay, 2nd in Long jump,  Basketball and Volleyball all star.


Ted Stoesz - Dakota Collegiate (Basketball, Volleyball, High Jump, and Badminton)

1965 - Provincial Volleyball Champion

          Provincial Basketball Finalist (1965)

1966 - Provincial Basketball Semi Finalist

          Provincial Volleyball Finalist

          Provincial High Jump


Greg Haydenluck of Arthur Meighen in Portage La Prairie (High School Track and Pole Vault), and in high school Greg was dominant on the track. The 1976 Provincial Rural Championships saw him win the 200m (23.0), the 400m (52.4) and the long jump (6.19m) and then at the Provincial “A” meet he was 2nd in the 400m (49.5), first in the 200m (22.5) and first in the long jump (6.43m). The 1977 Provincial Rural Track Meet saw Greg win the 200m (22.4), 400m (50.8) and pole vault (14.0 ft). The provincial “A” Championships saw him win the 200m (21.8) and 400m (49.5).


Builders are long time basketball coach Dave McNabb of Vincent Massey (Winnipeg) with six (6) Provincial Championships, James Harrison, Volleyball and basketball coach at Miles Macdonell, with ten (10) Provincial Championships  and Fred Kelesnik, volleyball coach and former MHSAA board member and two (2) Provincial championships  at Morris School.


The team which will be inducted this year is the Miles Macdonell ladies curling team from 1970- 72 that captured three (3) Provincial High School titles.  The 1970 team consisted of Maureen Jackson (skip), Cathy Pidzarko, Chris Pidzarko and Margaret Sader.  The 1971 team members were Maureen Jackson (skip), Chris Pidzarko, Cathy Pidzarko and Gaye Birchall, while the 1972 Provincial Championship team was made up of Chris Pidzarko (skip), Cathy Pidzarko, Janet Walker and Linda Walker.

Categories: Dakota, Jeanne-Sauve, Miles Macdonell, Morris, River East, Vincent Massey (Wpg)